Blooms Along the River Kennet, pt. 1

IMG_1030 I was trying to take a picture of this Purple Centaurea Montana Flower that had captivated me. Everything about the bloom screamed “Take a photo of me!” I wanted to show the world the striking fuchsia center, the light violet petals, and especially the negative space within the blossom. But the above picture was actually my second shot. In the first, the wind was blowing, so this was my original photo:
IMG_1031 My initial intention was to get home and simply delete the photo, no harm done. But then I saw how the wind had actually helped me, and shown me a different angle than the one I wanted. From this view, so much more of the plant is visible, and sure, the flower is itself is stunning; but the incorporation of the base of the bloom, the slight blurring of the delicate petals, and the focus on the lone blossom? I wish I could say that I intended to take this photo, but I cannot take credit for what nature threw at me.

Some lessons, like the Rule of Thirds (post about that tomorrow!), are easy enough to Google search, but others have to be experienced. If I had closed myself off from the opportunity for things to go wrong, which I nearly did, I would not have walked away with such a breath-taking shot. While I cannot rely on accidents to take good photos, they often reveal a new way of looking at things that can be applied to future projects, and I cannot wait to try this one out!

One thought on “Blooms Along the River Kennet, pt. 1”

Leave a Reply

