My Role Models

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Inspiration.”

Although I try to refrain from posting personal pictures, when I read this week’s Photo Challenge, I immediately knew what I would be writing about: my family.

Each and every one of them introduces unique perspectives into my life, and contributes a variety of attributes I am proud to carry with me today.

p11931ta104141_10
My mother, grandmother, and myself.

My mom and grandmother have supported and consoled me, even when they may have needed support more than I did. They inspire me to be strong in the face of trials, humble in my tribulations, and tenacious to the point of stubborn.

404664_3110883409933_1768095468_n

My dad is my biggest supporter: he has held and inspired me since before I could even walk. He constantly encourages me to take control of my life, embrace every opportunity with excitement and joy, and most importantly, that crying doesn’t solve our problems (even though he lets me cry on his shoulders!)

538085_10200784604556343_746505955_n

And my brother, although incredibly supportive as well, reminds me not to take life too seriously.

With a family like this, inspiration is a given; mostly because they don’t let me settle for anything less than the best, and I refuse to as well.

So, now it’s your turn! What keeps you inspired? What reminds you to chase your dreams, shoot for the stars, and various other cliches? Let me know!

One thought on “My Role Models”

  1. Even though I grew up with my Dad, the influence of my Mother on my life is immense. Today, thanks to her, I can do carpentry (yes, she taught me), I know the inns and outs of building a house (again, she taught me), cooking jams and making preserves, and I know that giving up is never an option. One of my life’s mottos came from her, when I fought stubbornly with my Dad. “Don’t fight them, join them.” This has made me far more appreciative of the views of other.

    Growing up with my Dad, I learned skills from him like arc welding and building with steel, how to wire a house’s electricity, how to cut trees and grapes for the optimum yield, and that I can achieve what ever I set my mind to. Another life motto I learned from my Dad is “Weather you believe you can do something or not, you will always be right.”

    My 5 siblings ( some older and some younger) have all contributed to my life in more ways that what I can imagine.

    Without them in my life, I would only be half the man I am today.

    Via to our families.

    Looking forward to having you and your Dad visit us this weekend.

    Philip

Leave a Reply

