Labor Day

Wow, these past few weeks have absolutely flown by– it seems like just yesterday I was strolling the High Streets of Wiltshire, and today I’m suffering the heat of Southern California while trying to cope with the obscene amount of homework that has already come my way.

I must first apologize to my loyal fans for my absence– there are many excuses that could be recorded for the internet to forever see, but I’ll save them for some other time.

Today, as I tackle philosophical treatises that are on the “duller” side of things and contemplate the semester that lies ahead, I reflect on the saying, “When the going gets tough, the tough get going…

…through their photos to relive some “cool” memories!”*

IMG_1384

One Memorial Day Weekend, well over two years ago by now, we cruised the Colorado River on a house boat with family and friends. It was an absolute blast, and the sunset was by far my favorite part.

IMG_1386I’m not sure I’ve seen such beautiful interaction between clouds and the colors of the sky before or since, but these photos are more than just a snapshot of how beautiful nature can be; for me, it is a reminder of the time a dragonfly landed on my leg, the excitement I felt when we jumped off the boat into the still cold water, and when times were generally simpler. Then, all I needed was a sunset to be swept into a world of wonder.

Who am I kidding, it’s still all I need!

*Author’s note: No, the saying doesn’t actually end that way, but it is how I revitalize myself!

Leave a Reply

