Dew Drops

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Monochromatic.”

This week’s blog challenge was straightforward as I read through it: post a picture that only has one color. My first though, perhaps naturally, was to take a picture, apply a black and white filter, and move on with my life.

But that didn’t quite feel right. These challenges are designed to encourage me to grow as a photographer, not just as assignments to be completed.

I wanted to find a way to incorporate more than one color into an image, when I stumbled on this ol’ beauty:

IMG_1026

This was taken along the River Kennet in Marlborough, Wiltshire. I originally was going to display it in my Blooms Along the River Kennet posts, but seeing as the blooms weren’t the focus, I decided to wait until the right opportunity arose, and I am truly glad that I did.

As I look at this picture in a more reflective light, I am absolutely stunned. The greens of a relatively mundane patch of grass are vibrant as they hum with life. The dew drops along the single blade of grass reflect a wide variety of colors, from pink to blue, with yellows, oranges, and even purples within every single droplet. Little white flowers seem to echo the green of their neighboring stalks, and the blade of grass dying, just to the left of the one supporting the water, has begun to decay, and now reveals the brown within the green.

Nature really is something special, if you let it be.

4 thoughts on “Dew Drops”

Leave a Reply

