The First Monday of the Year!

New Year’s Resolutions are awful.

No, really. Hear me out.

We pick some arbitrary day to turn our lives around, when in reality, by February 1st, many of these resolutions will have been broken, forgotten, or both. Also, this date is one on which we’re supposed to make resolutions. There’s too much pressure, especially with social media, to resolve to accomplish something, and then post about it, all the while knowing these will more than likely fail.

The basic idea of self-improvement is one that I whole-heartedly support, which puts me in a wonderful paradox (plus, I’m hypocritically posting about this on the internet).

Instead of making a resolution on January First, though, I chose today, the first monday of the year. And, instead of calling it a resolution, I am setting a goal for myself. One that I can’t post about. One that I must practice internally.

Simply put, it is self-love.

IMG_2690

This is Lou. Although she isn’t the world’s most glamorous dog, she has a beautiful spirit, one which I seek to emulate. She doesn’t care how far I throw the ball, as long as she gets to bring it back to me. She doesn’t care what time I wake up or come home, as long as she is there to greet me. She doesn’t care what grades I get, if I burn dinner, if I swear, if I don’t accomplish everything I set to.

She just wants to love me.

This year, I want to love myself as she does.

We’ll have to see how it goes.

What about you? Did you set any resolutions? Do you need a little more self-love in your life? Tell me about them below!

One thought on “The First Monday of the Year!”

  1. Also cannot stand resolutions. I only affirm I will continue on the path toward self employment I began last year. No resolution needed. 🙂

    Love your dogs face 🙂

Leave a Reply

